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CONSTRUCTION PERMIT APPLICATION FEES  
FOR MINOR SOURCES 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS) 
These FAQs have been prepared by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to assist facilities in complying with fee 
requirements for state permit applications. This document is intended solely as guidance, cannot be used to bind the DNR and is not a 
substitute for reading applicable statutes, rules, and permits. 

1)  Are there fee requirements for construction permit 
applications submitted to the DNR? 

Yes. The Iowa Environmental Protection Commission 
adopted rules and a fee schedule on December 15, 
2015, establishing fees for minor source construction 
permit applications. The fees became effective on 
January 15, 2016. 

2)  How can I verify that my facility is a minor source? 

A facility is a minor source if the DNR has identified the 
facility as a minor source in previously issued 
construction permits or if the application is for a permit 
template. A facility’s status may be determined for 
existing facilities by checking the DNR’s State & Local 
Emission Inventory System (SLEIS) database or the Iowa 
EASY Air system, DNR’s electronic application system. 
The facility status should be checked before every 
submittal as it can change. Find detailed guidance on 
how to use SLEIS or Iowa EASY Air to check your status 
in the instructions section of DNR Form AF: 
Construction Permit Application Fee form at 
www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees. 
 
If the application is for a new facility or an existing 
facility without construction permits and the equipment 
is not covered by an exemption, the facility is 
considered a major source until review of the 
construction permit application is completed and a 
permit(s) is issued. DNR Form AF: Construction Permit 
Application Fee form provides instructions regarding 
fees for major sources. If necessary, applicants can also 
contact the Construction Permitting Hotline (1-877-247-
4692) to discuss source status.  
Facilities applying for a permit template, a registration 
permit, or a permit by rule are considered minor 
sources.  

3)  What types of registration permits, permit by rule, 
and permit templates are available? 

Registration permits are available for Group 1 grain 
elevators. A permit by rule is available for paint spray 
booths. Permit templates are available for aggregate 
processing plants, asphalt plants, concrete batch plants, 
small and large gasoline bulk plants, and Group 2 grain 
elevators. Go to the Construction Permitting Materials 
website to find more information for each permit 
application type and whether you qualify to use them. 
You may also find information in Iowa EASY Air 
describing each application type. 

4)  How much are the construction permit application 
fees? 

For minor source construction permit applications, the 
fee is $385 per permit application for each permit. The 
fee is $100 for each application for a registration 
permit, permit by rule, or permit template. All fees for 
the air quality program are included in a Fee Schedule 
at www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees.  

5)  Since a fee is required for each permit, how do I 
know how many permits are required so I can 
calculate the fee due? 

The DNR issues a construction permit to each emission 
point that is not otherwise exempt. In some cases, 
permits are also issued to sources of emissions that do 
not vent through an emission point (e.g. haul roads, 
storage piles, equipment leaks, etc.) The calculation of 
fees is based on the number of permits the facility is 
applying for. 
 
Fee Example #1 
An existing minor source wants to install four new 
emergency generators. Each generator will have its own 
emission point (stack). In this case the fee would be: 
 $385 x 4 (number of permits needed) = $1,540  
 

http://www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees
https://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Air-Quality/Construction-Permits/Construction-Permitting-Materials
https://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Air-Quality/Construction-Permits/Construction-Permitting-Materials
http://www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees
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Fee Example #2 
An existing minor source wants to install four new 
emergency generators. Two emission points will be 
constructed with two generators venting through each 
emission point (stack).  
 $385 x 2 (number of permits needed) = $770  
 
Fee Example #3 
An existing minor source wants to install one new 
emergency generator that will have two separate 
emission points (stacks).  
 $385 x 2 (number of permits needed) = $770 

6)  How will fees be assessed for Collection of Air 
Permits (CAP) construction permit applications? 

Fees for CAP construction permit applications will be 
$385 for each individual permit application included 
with each CAP permit application submittal. For 
example, an existing minor source wants to install five 
new emergency generators under a CAP. 

$385 x 5 (number of permits covered under 
CAP) = $1,925  

7) Do these fees apply if my facility is located in Linn 
or Polk counties? 

For questions about facilities located in Polk or Linn 
County contact the local program offices for 
information on air permitting fees. 
For facilities in Polk County, contact 515-286-3705. For 
facilities in Linn County, call 319-892-6200. 

8)  Do fees apply when using an exemption? 

The application fees do not apply to equipment that is 
excluded from the requirement to obtain an air 
construction permit when an applicable exemption is 
used. Find exemptions from construction permitting in 
567 IAC 22.1(2). If an applicant submits a permit 
application for equipment eligible to be exempted, the 
application fees apply.  

9)  When do fees have to be paid? 

Fees are due when the permit application is submitted 
to the DNR. Processing of an application will not begin 
until DNR receives the applicable fee.  
The applicant will be notified of any additional 
construction permit application fees that may be due 
should the review of the submitted application warrant 
additional permit applications to modify previously 
issued permits for existing equipment at the facility. 

10)  How do I submit the fee? 

Fees can be submitted through the mail or 
electronically.  Fees are due when the permit 
application is submitted to the DNR. Payment can be 
made by mailing a check or money order but should 
either be submitted with the application and include 
the payment form or reference the application that was 
submitted previously and include the payment form.  
The payment form can be downloaded at 
www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees. Detailed payment 
information is provided on the form.  
Payment can also be made electronically through Iowa 
EASY Air using e-check or credit/debit cards. A service 
charge of $1.50 will be applied to all credit/debit card 
and e-check payments. Credit/debit card transactions 
will have an additional 2.5% fee applied to the 
transactions. DNR accepts Visa, Mastercard, Discover, 
and American Express. 

11)  Can fees be refunded if the permit application or 
applications for a registration permit, a permit by 
rule or a permit template is withdrawn? 

If a construction permit application is withdrawn by the 
applicant before DNR’s technical review begins, the 
application fee (minus $100 and service or credit card 
processing fees to cover DNR administrative costs) may 
be refunded. Once technical review begins, DNR will not 
refund the application fee. Technical review begins 
when the permit application is assigned to a staff 
member for review. Applicants may track application 
receipt and the progress of the review using Iowa EASY 
Air. Contact the DNR at 515-725-8200 for additional 
information on how to request a refund.  
Fees for applications for a registration permit, permit by 
rule, or permit template are nonrefundable. 

12)  What is the process for addressing over or under 
payments of fees? 

If DNR finds an error in the amount of fees submitted, 
DNR will contact the applicant and provide instructions 
regarding how to resolve the error. If DNR determines a 
fee was overpaid or a duplicate fee was submitted, the 
DNR will refund the overpaid balance to the applicant.  
For over or under payments associated with an 
application for a permit by rule or registration permit, 
contact the DNR 515-725-8200 for more information. 

http://www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees
https://programs.iowadnr.gov/easyair/Public/Client/IA_EASY/Public/Pages/PublicApplicationList.aspx
https://programs.iowadnr.gov/easyair/Public/Client/IA_EASY/Public/Pages/PublicApplicationList.aspx
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13)  Is a fee required for administrative amendments to 
a construction permit, registration permit, permit 
by rule, or permit template? 

The following types of amendments do not require fees 
to correct: typographical errors; word processing errors; 
changes in the name, address or telephone number of 
any person identified in the permit, registration, permit 
by rule or template; or similar minor administrative 
changes at the source. 
 
A fee and DNR form are also not required with requests 
for changes in ownership or operational control of a 
source if no permit modification is requested and where 
DNR determines that no other change in the permit is 
necessary. However, the source must submit a notice to 
DNR containing a date for transfer of permit 
responsibility. If the facility wants to have a permit 
modified to show the change in ownership, the 
standard fee of $385 per permit or $100 per permit 
template, registration permit, or permit by rule applies. 

14)  What is a portable plant and are portable plants 
subject to the fee requirements? 

Portable plants, such as asphalt plants, aggregate 
processing plants, or concrete batch plants, are facilities 
that can be deployed to different locations to operate 
for various periods of time. Portable plants do not 
operate while in route to a new location. Once a 
portable plant begins operation, it is considered a 
stationary source for fee purposes.  
New or modified portable plants are required to submit 
a construction permit application or a template permit 
application with the applicable fee. A new application 
and applicable fee are not required when a portable 
plant is relocated unless a permit needs to be modified 
to relocate the plant.  

15)  Is a fee required for updates to equipment lists 
under portable or stationary facilities covered by a 
permit template? 

No. Updates to equipment lists for facilities already 
covered by a permit template that allows updates to be 
made without the permit being reissued are not subject 
to fees. 

16) How can my facility provide recommendations to 
the DNR regarding fees? 

The minor source construction permit application fee 
advisory group meets annually to review the draft 
budget and minor source application fees. Participants 

may provide recommendations regarding fees 
necessary to cover all direct and indirect costs to 
administer the minor source construction permitting 
program. The meeting will be held prior to the March 
Commission meeting each year and will be posted on 
the DNR website at least 14 days prior to the meeting. 

17)  What will the fees be next year? 

Any changes in the fees will be made by the 
Environmental Protection Commission and posted on 
www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees. New or adjusted fees will 
become effective on July 1. Fees not adjusted will 
remain in effect as previously established. 

18)  Is there a fee to rescind a permit? 

No.  

19)  Who do I contact for assistance? 

For questions contact the Construction Permitting 
Hotline at 1-877-247-4692. 

https://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Air-Quality/Public-Participation
https://www.iowadnr.gov/Environmental-Protection/Air-Quality/Public-Participation
http://www.iowadnr.gov/aqfees

